1862: Theophilus T. Spaugh, Daniel Wilson, George & Leander Mock to Solomon Wilson

This letter was penned by four different soldiers of the 15th North Carolina Infantry. The first two pages were written by Daniel Wilson (1840-1862) of Co. H who enlisted on 15 July 1862 at Raleigh. Daniel was taken prisoner on 14 September 1862 in the fighting at South Mountain, Maryland. He was sent as a POW to Fort Delaware, Delaware, and exchanged on 10 November 1862. It is reported that he died of scurvy on or about the time of his exchange.

The next two pages were written by Theophilus Thomas (“T. T.”) Spaugh (1843-1913) of Co. F. His service record indicates that he was sent to the Chimborazo Hospital in Richmond on 25 August 1862 (the day after this letter was written) and was absent without leave throughout most of 1863 and 1864.

He was the fifth of six children born to Christian Spach (became Spaugh) (1803-1885) and Catharine Hege (1811-1862), who married on 31 Oct 1833 at Davidson County, North Carolina. Theophilus spent his entire life in northern Davidson County, North Carolina or southern Forsyth County, North Carolina in the vicinity of the Moravian community of Friedberg, where he is buried at the Moravian graveyard there. Theophilus married Anna Mariah Boeckel/Beckel (1845-1916) on 12 Mar 1868 in North Carolina. Theophilus and Anna were the parents of four known children—three girls and one boy. All four lived to maturity. The children were Carrie E. Spaugh Johnson (1870-1918), Mary C. Spaugh Johnson (1872-1917), Ada Olivia Spaugh Raper (1874-1926), and Arthur Augustus Spaugh (1876-1950). Serving with him in the same company was his brother, Emanuel Jacob Spaugh (1838-1925).

The last two pages were written by George W. and Leander Mock of Co. F.

aamexiwar96 - Version 2
A rare green envelope with Confederate 5 cent stamp

TRANSCRIPTION

Richmond, Va.
August 24th 1862

Dear Friends,

I now take my pen in hand to inform you that I am tolerable well at present and [I hope] these few lines will find you all well. We received your letter and was glad to hear from you though I am sorry that you could not come to me though you may have better times than we have for we are a marching half of our time and that is hard work.

We first got in this regiment 5 miles from Richmond. Then we marched 15 miles northeast from Richmond and taken up camp and stayed there 4 days and then came 1 mile back and stayed there 4 days and then we marched back through Richmond and 2½ miles on this side. We taken the cars and came 23 miles on them and then we marched 1 mile and taken up camp and are here yet at Hanover Junction northwest from Richmond.

Tell Solomon I am sorry that he did not come with us but I want him to behave and keep out of bad habits and try to live as he should. And if I never see you no more, I want you both to try to meet me in heaven. I tell you, we see hard times here for we don’t get more than half enough to eat half of the time.

We are General Cobbs Brigade. [William] McRae is our colonel and Stone is our Captain and Bucker is our First Lieutenant. I like our captain and lieutenant tolerable well. We have got our guns and have been on inspection of arms one time.

I must come to a close so write to me soon both of you and direct your letters to Richmond, Va., Company H, 15th North Carolina troops in care of Capt. Stone. When this you see, remember me. Yours truly, — Daniel Wilson

To C. A. Hage and Solomon Wilson. I am in tent with Solomon Terk and I. W. Tesh. I can’t name the others.

[in another hand]

Richmond, Va.
August 24th 1862

Dear Sir,

I now take the opportunity to inform you that we are well and hoping when these few lines [reach you they] may find you all the same. We received your letter and was very glad to hear from you. I am sorry that we did not get together [before we left]. I like it tolerably well but I would rather be at home. Sandy Scott says I should ask you whether Lige [Elijah] Scott is there and tell him to write and write where to direct his letters. Sandy is in the same company I am. And tell Joseph Delap to write to brother. Augustus is in the 14th Regiment. He is near us now. He has been sick.

I hope we will see each other before long. It is a getting dark and so I must bring my letter to a close. Please excuse my bad writing and spelling. Your affectionate cousin, — T. T. Spaugh

Direct your letters to T. T. Spaugh, Richmond, Va., Co. F, 15th N. C. Regiment in care of Capt. [Addison D.] Cutts.

[in another hand]

Richmond, Va.
August 24th 1862

Dear Friend,

No I take the opportunity to drop you a few lines to let you know that I am well at this time and hoping they will find you in the same health. We are now at Masa [?] Junction. We heard from Eliza yesterday evening and she is well. She said we should write to you. Mother’s folks is well. We don’t know how long. We have marched 25 miles. The last march we did on foot and the other part we took the trains and now we are 25 miles from Richmond—west of Richmond.

I would like for you to get with us but as it is, we can write to each other. I hope these few lines will come to hand. If we never meet on earth, we will all meet in heaven where parting will be never.

From G. W. Mock to Jacob Long

[also a brief note from Leander Mock of Co. F, 15th N. Carolina Regiment]

 

Leave a comment