1865: Levi Craig Williams to Theodore Medad Pomeroy

This letter was written by 30 year-old Levi Craig Williams (1834-1908) who was drafted to serve one year as a private in Co. A, 96th New York Infantry and entered the service on 16 March 1865. He was mustered out with his company on 6 February 1866 at City Point, Virginia. According to his muster roll abstract papers, Levi was born in Alabama. He was a farmer standing 5 feet 6.5 inches tall, with grey eyes, brown hair and a fair complexion.

Leiv was the son of Theophilus Williams (1799-1879) and Annis Amanda Seymour (1807-1887). He was married to Zebiah L. Blackman (1835-1904) and the couple had three little children at the time this letter was written in 1865. Viz: George Theophilus Williams (1856-1927), Jennie A. Williams (1859-1918), and Alvin James Williams (1863-1923). After his discharge from the service, Levi moved his family to Spencer, Medina county, Ohio, where he resumed farming. By 1900, he had become an insurance agent. He is buried in Loraine county, Ohio.

Levi wrote the letter to the Honorable Theodore Medad Pomeroy (1824-1905) of Auburn, New York, who served in the 37th U. S. Congress as a representative of the 25th Congressional district. He served in that capacity fro 1861 to 1869.

TRANSCRIPTION

Culpepper Court House, Va.
August 24th 1865

Hon. T. Pomeroy
Dear Sir,

I am about applying to the War Department for my discharge for the following reasons. Viz:

In the first place I have been ruptured for the past twelve years and in the second place I have been afflicted with disease of the spine for six years past that at times totally paralyzes and deprives me of the use of both my legs. When the war broke out, I was so situated in my affairs at home that I could leave without serious detriment to me or my family and I offered myself as a Volunteer in four different New York Regiments. Viz: the 13th Infantry, 50th Engineers, 8th Cavalry, and 111th Infantry, and was rejected each time on account of the above disabilities. But with the last two years my wife’s Father has died, her friends have all moved to the State of Iowa, and she is left entirely alone with three small children with no one to do the smallest thing toward providing for their wants or comfort.

I was (as you recollect) drafted at Auburn in March last and was assigned to and am now doing duty in Company A of the 96th Regiment, New York Volunteer Infantry and if the war was going on and my country needed my services, I would be willing to try and get along some way with my family and I would stay and do what I could. But I think now the war is over, it is rather hard to hold me as a drafted man when they would not accept me as a volunteer when the war was going on and the country needed men.

My wife is in feeble health and as she has everything to do indoors and out, it comes very hard. I have got neither pay or bounty so that I cannot hire anything done and my property outdoors (what little I have got) is all going to waste and destruction. And even if I had money, it would be next to impossible for me to hire help is so scarce. I do not wish you to think, sir, that I am telling you a fictitious tale to obtain a discharge for I am telling nothing but the truth—nothing but the plain unvarnished facts as I am ready to make oath to at any time.

Now sir, if you would be so kind as to send me a letter requesting my discharge for the above named reasons, you will confer a favor and do me a kindness that I shall never forget while I live.

Very respectfully, your obedient servant, — Levi C. Williams

Company A, 96th Regiment N. Y. Volunteers, Washington D. C.

[P. S.] The reason I many your letter to come to me is I want to send it with some other papers and affidavits and anything else you will be so good as to do for me to forward the desired object will be most gratefully and thankfully appreciated. If you have forgotten me, I am the man that brought you the Letter of Recommendation from Mr. Joseph W. Gates of Ontario, Wayne county.


Additional information supplied in November 2023 to Spared & Shared by Debbie Slavic, a descendant of Levi’s:

“You previously transcribed a letter from my ancestor, Levi Craig Williams, Company A, 96th NY. Thanks to some relatives, I have come across some pictures of Levi Craig Williams and his wife, so I thought you might be interested in putting a face to your transcribed letter. The first picture is Levi in his younger years and the second in his later years. I have sent a picture of his wife, Zebiah, who is referenced in the letter you transcribed and then the last two pictures are newspaper articles about his death. He was very active in the GAR and was a GAR Post Commander in Lorain, Ohio. I hope you find this information useful and can attach to your transcribed letter. Thank you for your efforts in recording these priceless keepsakes. When I came across this letter, I was so touched and thankful to keep this as part of our family’s legacy.”

5 thoughts on “1865: Levi Craig Williams to Theodore Medad Pomeroy”

  1. Hello! What a surprise today when I came across this posting. This was written by my 2x great grandfather, Levi Craig Williams. Thank you so much for posting this!! What an amazing and informative letter detailing his health and life at such an important time in our country’s history. Can you direct as to how I could obtain a better copy of this correspondence. I do quite a bit of genealogical research and I would like to obtain a better copy for my files. Thank you so much and I hope to hear from you.

    Like

    1. Click on image of letter, then click on tab at bottom of page that says, “View full size.” This will give you a full size view that you can save to your computer.

      Like

  2. I have no other details to share. This was one of thousands of letters I have transcribed for clients who buy and sell on eBay. You might look for it there if it has not sold already. My clients never divulge information about who they sold their letter(s) to.

    Like

    1. I really appreciate your response. It would mean a lot to me if I could locate this letter, but I understand how difficult that might be. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to respond and also for posting this on your site! It’s a great thing that you do and I can’t thank you enough for giving me an insight into my ancestor’s life during the Civil War.

      Like

Leave a comment